Nomadic temperament music

Music from here that makes you dream there...

The bobelan, a songbird on the banks of the Scorff, is echoing the Oriental bulbul. Melodies unfold and are adorned: arabesques, improvisations... the voice, the hurdy-gurdy and the percussions intertwine and blur tracks.

Music from here, dreams of elsewhere?

The NAVA trio proposes a modal music of Breton expression. The concert, last one hour and fifteen minutes, includes ten pieces arranged around voice, electro-acoustic hurdy gurdy and percussion.

This repertoire consists of songs from the popular background. They were chosen for their constructions with scales far away from the Western temperament as well as for their complex, asymetric rhythms.

The choice was made by the musicians to preserve these particularities and to imagine new playing modes allowing a new appropriation and a development of these characteristics. The use of improvisation, vocal and instrumental, contributes to this, sometimes reminding us the universe of oriental "modes".

The play of the hurdy-gurdy, exploiting many electro-acoustic possibilities, allows a modern music all in smoothness, with multiple colors. Finally, originals songs were chosen for the poetic quality of their texts, putting forward a sensuality sometimes veiled, rarely evoked in the traditional context.


navaconcert.wixsite.com/navatrio

 

 
 

Photo : Laureen Keravec

Jañlug ER MOUEL : Voice

David SEVERAC : Electro-acoutic hurdy-gurdy

Gaël MARTINEAU : Drums (derbouka, daf, davul...)

Musique à tempérament nomade
Une musique d'ici qui fait rêver à là-bas...

Le bobelan, oiseau chanteur des bords du Scorff, fait écho au bulbul d'Orient. Les mélodies se déploient et se parent : arabesques, improvisations... la voix, la vielle à roue et les percussions s'entre-interpellent et brouillent les pistes.

Musique d'ici, rêve d'ailleurs ?

Le trio NAVA propose une musique modale d'expression bretonne. Le concert, d'une durée d'une heure quinze, laisse entendre dix pièces arrangées autour de la voix, de la vielle électro-acoustique et des percussions.

Ce répertoire se compose de chants issus du fond populaire. Ils ont été choisis pour leurs constructions sur des échelles bien éloignées du tempérament occidental ainsi que pour leurs rythmiques complexes, asymétriques.

Le choix a été fait par les musiciens de conserver ces particularités et d'imaginer des modes de jeu inédits permettant une ré-appropriation et un développement de ces caractéristiques. L'utilisation de l'improvisation, vocale et instrumentale, participe à cela, rappelant parfois les univers des "modes" orientaux.

Le jeu de la vielle à roue, exploitant beaucoup de possibilités électro-acoustique, permet une musique actuelle toute en finesse, aux couleurs multiples. Enfin, les chants originaux, ont été choisis pour la qualité poétique de leurs textes, mettant en avant une sensualité parfois voilée, rarement évoquée dans le contexte traditionnel.

navaconcert.wixsite.com/navatrio

 

 
 

Crédits photo : Laureen Keravec

Jañlug ER MOUEL : chant

David SEVERAC : vielle à roue électro-acoustique

Gaël MARTINEAU : percussions (derbouka, daf, davul...)